Welcome to the new JGR-Space Physics blog!

Welcome to my new blog for the Journal of Geophysical Research-Space Physics. I am Mike Liemohn, the new Editor-in-Chief of JGR-Space Physics, and a Professor in the Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Space Sciences Department at the University of Michigan. I would like to use this blog as a means of disseminating information about the journal, our editorial policies and practices, and broader topics on scientific publishing and peer-review in the digital age.

In this inaugural post, let me extend a huge THANK YOU to the outgoing Editors of JGR-Space Physics:

  • Bob Lysak, University of Minnesota
  • Masaki Fujimoto, ISAS, JAXA, Japan
  • Philippa Browning, University of Manchester

They have served the space science community with integrity and dedication for the past 4 years, devoting an immense amount of time towards this journal. Thank you for all of your hard work to keep JGR-Space Physics as the leading journal in our field and to maintain its high standards of publication and peer review.

I would also like to introduce the rest of the new Editors of JGR-Space Physics:

  • Alan Rodger, British Antarctic Survey
  • Yuming Wang, University of Science and Technology of China
  • Larry Kepko, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Michael Balikhin, University of Sheffield

These 4 will be working with me to process all of the manuscript submissions to JGR-Space Physics over the next four years. I look forward to working with them in the years ahead.

One point of logistics: if you would like to contact me, please use my gmail address specifically set up for JGR-Space Physics: liemohnjgrspace@gmail.com. I would like to keep this as the address for correspondence relating to this blog and the JGR-Space Physics Facebook page that I just created.

I hope to make regular posts here, perhaps every day but at least once a week. I will post links to these posts on the JGR-Space Physics Facebook page, and occasionally send out announcements on these posts through my own Facebook page, the SPA electronic newsletter, and other relevant forums. Feel free to comment below, and feel free to suggest topics for future posts. I would really like for this to be a two-way conversation with the community about the journal, how it is run, and how it should adapt to a changing publishing environment.

Leave a Reply

