Publication Statistics for JGR-Space Physics

If I haven’t said it enough, yet, let me say it again: you people are awesome!  You make my job as editor of JGR-Space Physics easy.  Well, okay, let me rephrase that:  easier than I expected.

Let me share some publication statistics with you.  Here is the official link at the AGU website:

http://publications.agu.org/journals/publication-statistics/

As of today (Feb 10), they only go through October 31 of 2013, but this page is updated occasionally and provides a nerdy tidbit about how we fare relative to other journals. Among the 19 AGU publication titles, JGR-Space Physics is the fourth largest in terms of number of submissions.  Last year, the acceptance rate was right about 70%.  This tells me that you are prolific in your production of new and original contributions and that you usually submit manuscripts that are worthy of (eventual) publication.  Some journals have a much higher rejection rate; I hope that we don’t ever get to that because it would mean that you are wasting a lot of time preparing manuscripts on unoriginal or insignificant findings.  I don’t want that.  It is my hope that every paper is well written and makes a new contribution to the field.  Believe me, it’s no fun rejecting papers.

The number that truly makes me proud to be in the space physics community is the last column on the table: our median days to first decision is 37.  Only two journals are faster, GRL (which better be faster!) and Space Weather, another journal in our field!  This is why I say that you are amazing and make my job easy: most of you are very good about accepting reviewer assignments and then returning a competent review by the requested deadline.  Yes, of course we have a few deadbeats who never accept an assignment, we have a few duds who submit less-than-thorough reviews, and we have a few sluggards who are consistently late with their reviews.  Those that fit into this category know who you are. But please know that this is the exception, not the rule.  The vast majority of you are active participants in this vital community service role, provide thoughtful and helpful critiques of the manuscripts, and do this in a conscientious and timely manner.

I cannot say it enough: thank you for being such a great research community!

2 thoughts on “Publication Statistics for JGR-Space Physics

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • No, I don’t know how to automatically tweet when there is a new post. Once I post, I open the new post and click the Twitter button at the bottom. I then compose a tweet and click send. After the first time, it knows my Twitter account and I don’t have to retype that info. But the tweet message has to be composed each time, and I usually modify the form-filled text it provides (just the blog post title). It takes less than a minute but it is not “automatic.”

Leave a Reply

