EASI Search Tool Has Moved

In case you had it bookmarked, the AGU’s Earth and Space Index (EASI) search tool has moved to a new web location:

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/agu/search/easi/results

EASI_logo

This is part of the ongoing transition of publication-oriented web content from the AGU site over to Wiley. The page still looks exactly the same and, as far as I can tell, works exactly the same way.

I noticed the change of address right away because I use this search tool regularly to help identify potential reviewers for papers. While I use other broader-ranging sites like ADS or ISI or Google Scholar, I like this search tool because it is AGU specific. I know that when I find a reference in the EASI database, it is (a) a paper rather than a presentation or non-reviewed conference proceeding and (b) published in an AGU journal. This is very helpful for me, as an editor of an AGU journal, to find researchers that have recently published in an AGU journal on a similar topic. I can tailor the search to be as complicated as I feel like making it and it has proven to be extremely valuable to me in my role as editor of JGR Space Physics. The space physics community is fantastic at affirmatively responding to requests to review papers, and I am amazed and thrilled to be part of such a field where people unselfishly agree to assess each other’s work. That said, if I can hone the search to those that might be even more willing to say yes to a review request for JGR Space Physics (because they have recently published on that topic with AGU), then I’ll take any advantage that I can get. So, EASI has been invaluable to me as an editor.

I would like to note that there are nice search tools within GEMS that I also use. In fact, AGU has just completed an upgrade to GEMS with even more editorial tools for helping us find potential referees. These are parts of GEMS to which regular authors and reviewers do not have access, but they allow me to search for people and see that person’s availability and expertise. The new features make it closer to the EASI search tool in functionality, but not quite, so I still go to the EASI website for those tough papers that require a little extra time to identify potential reviewers. Therefore, I was a bit concerned when my link to EASI stopped working. I soon found the new location, though.

I’d also like to say that AGU staff has been very attentive to listening to the editors about possible improvements to GEMS. They are responsive to our suggestions and quickly address any questions that we have. I am very impressed with the Publications crew at AGU HQ and greatly enjoy working with them. If you in the space research community have suggestions for improvements to GEMS, please pass them on, either through a journal editor or directly to AGU staff.

Leave a Reply

