Women in Planetary Science Blog

Well, the USA just had its Brexitesque upset vote. Good luck, America. Good luck, World. The one good thing for me last night was that, as I was staying up late anyway, I decided to worked on manuscripts in my queue. It turned into a productive time as I occasionally glanced at the TV, watching the election results come in.

In support of scientific inquiry and in honor of great women, I’d like to share with you the Women in Planetary Science blog. In particular, I would like to point you to the “51+ Women in Planetary Science” list. The first name on the list is my personal favorite, Claudia Alexander. I overlapped with her as U-M PhD students back in the early 1990s. She was assigned to be my grad student mentor, something the departmental grad student organization arranged at that time. It was great talking with her and knowing her over the years. The community suffered a loss with her unfortunate death 16 months ago.

alexander-300-nasa

            There are many other great names on the list, and the links on their names take you to a post of their story and their words of wisdom and advice for others. I encourage everyone to take some time today and read through these articles. They are amazing.

2 thoughts on “Women in Planetary Science Blog

  1. Claudia’s words of advice to young researchers: “It is critical, no matter whether you choose to do a post-doc or not, to learn how to write. Learn how to respond to reviewers. Learn how to write a competitive proposal. In the case of both papers and proposals, you may have to submit 4-5 times before you start having success. Don’t be discouraged by that.”

  2. Pingback: Women Reviewers | Notes from the JGR-Space Physics Editor-in-Chief

Leave a Reply

